About Eat Smart!® programs for schools, workplaces, and recreation centres


Find an awarded Eat Smart!® location in your area


How to apply for the Eat Smart!® Award of Excellence


Current Eat Smart!® news and announcements

News & Announcements

HCAAP Certification in Canada

HCAAP is the abbreviated term for Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point. The HACCP certification is a system recognized internationally that shows that a food business has met the criterion required to ensure that their products are safe for consumption. An auditor or a manager assesses food premises to ensure that it has developed, documented, and implemented all the policies and procedures as set by HACCP. Some countries may not require a business to obtain the HACCP certification while it is mandatory to obtain one in other nations. However, any food companies that aim at covering all the safety risks should consider getting one regardless of the law requirements.

HCAAP and GMP Certification

Good Manufacturing Practice works (GMP), an HCAAP component aim at preventing hazards from happening in the food, chemicals, and pharmaceuticals industry. A company that has both HCAAP and GMP certification stands a chance of providing complete food safety during manufacture and supply. Some of the critical control points that most auditors use in their evaluation include the equipment and the processes used, the packaging and labeling of items, the nature of the manufacturing premises. Other areas of focus include the employee training, the supply chain of the raw materials, and supervision as well as the design and the formulation of products.

HCAAP Principles

A business should meet all the HCAAP basic principles after enrollment in the food safety certificate program. The plan helps reduce food-related contamination losses and improve design for new products. The basic principles in HCAAP include:
1. Carry out a hazard analysis- this includes identifying the points that are prone to hazards and then evaluating the degree of risks posed by the hazards.
2. Identifying the critical control points - this involves an application of measures to prevents dangers from happening.
3. Using the proper maximum and minimum conditions such as pH, temperatures, time, salt, and chlorine levels, among others.
4. Determine the critical limits for each critical control point.
5. Formulate the monitoring procedures- It also involves taking corrective action when the system exceeds the critical limits. Monitoring the critical control point helps to maintain a record that shows the food business has met critical limits.
6. Maintenance of record keeping procedure- there should be a record showing that the institution meets all the critical limits.
7. Maintain various verification procedures- you should ensure that all the controls are working efficiently after the completion of the HCAAP plan.

Importance of HCAAP Certification

Therefore, enrollment in a food safety certification program helps one to learn various precautionary measures that they should take to prevent hazards from happening and reduce the risks of unsafe products. You also receive high confidence levels and greater credibility from your customers and workers in the organization. Additionally, HCAAP certificate is a proof of conformity to the regulatory and market requirements.


Contact us at:

Contact Us